Booting up on battery issue

I had no time to share with you this issue I noticed on my Dell M4500 laptop.

Since I installed Win7 onto mSATA SSD disk once I tried to boot on the battery I failed to do this.

After I plugged in AC adapter, this message showed up ahead the boot process – “The Intel ME Ignition firmware is booting from the factory default image”.

Image

Before I moved to mSATA I noticed BIOS was very slow on the battery. And now it was slow and not firing up OS.

The problem was completely solved by turning off the Intel SpeedStep technology for processor in BIOS.

This entry was posted in hardware, soft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Booting up on battery issue

  1. crazyr2013 says:

    This solved the issue? I have exacly the same issue with my Dell M4500 laptop. I have an msata SSD from Intel, with 8GB Memory.
    But when the battery is not fully charded, and i boot my laptop from the battery. It will not start-up. When i put the laptop on the charger, and turn it on again. It startes again, and i can work fine on the battery.
    And sometimes i do get this error message. But there is not a lot of information on the Internet about this message.

    The only disabtance i can think of, the OS can’t use SpeedStep any more, so the CPU uses more energie, what will have a negative effect on the battery. Did you notice anything about this?

    Rolf

  2. cmexonat says:

    I haven’t much time to digging it. As I noticed so far, is what system was too slow in BIOS with speedstep enabled. And 9 of 10 times not booted at all. On the battery of course.

    • crazyr2013 says:

      I have exactly the same issue. Dell had no idea. I had the issue several times when i was in the middle of an small boat harbor. Let we say not fully…..
      Will reboot my computer this evening and test the setting.

      If this solves the issue, if would be great. Its a very good laptop i have to say.All i do need a new battery.

  3. cmexonat says:

    Yep, this laptop has great bang for the buck IQ, I say 🙂 Beef it up with 16GB of RAM, SSD and it’s fine for 3D/CAD modeling or After Effects or heavy computing tasks.

  4. Savage says:

    Same issue here since I added an Intel 310 Series SSD (msata). 😦

Leave a comment